Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Approaching 50 years – a song a year (part 3, the 1990s)

Here is the third installment of songs, one for each year from the year of my birth. (The 1970s and can be found here and you can access the Spotify playlist here)

1990:      I Wanna Stay Home – Jellyfish

A friend of mine returned from the summer in Pakistan with a bag full of dodgy cassettes including Dweezil Zappa and Pearl Jam. I fell in love with Jellyfish and still listen to the album.

1991:       Losing My Religion – REM

I could have easily have included a dozen REM tracks but opted for possibly the most obvious but it’s still a true classic.

1992:      Brian WilsonBarenaked Ladies

Canadian band Barenaked Ladies are another group where I had to choose from a long list of songs. This is from their first album and is both catchy and loopy.

1993:      Hey Jealousy – Gin Blossoms

I remember painting pictures all over my bedroom wall during this summer and playing this rocker loudly.

1994:      Your Ghost – Kristin Hersh

The song featured on one of those cover CDs on Q magazine. I always thought it was far too good for a giveaway.

1995:      Street Spirit (Fade Out) – Radiohead

I never quite got Radiohead, but this is one of their best.

1996:      Happiness – Blue Nile

I heard this late one night on the radio and bought it the next day. An atmospheric mix of acoustic, electronic and harmonies.

1997:      Silver Springs [Live] – Fleetwood Mac

I’ve broken my rule of not repeating an artist, but this song deserves the attention. It’s the live version of a beautiful ballad that was relegated from Rumours to a b-side in 1977.

1998:      Nightmares By The Sea – Jeff Buckley

Sadly Jeff drowned in the Mississippi River before this music could be released. It’s an indie song with a brilliant drum beat.

1999:      Smooth – Santana

In the summer of 1999, HMV could make bespoke CDs for you in their flagship store and I paid through the nose for one. The limited choice of music included this collaboration by Santana and Rob Thomas from Matchbox Twenty.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2020 by in Me, music, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Past posts