Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Approaching 50 years – a song a year (part 2, the 1980s)

Here is the second installment of songs, one for each year from the year of my birth. (The 1970s can be found here and you can access the Spotify playlist here)

1980:     Down Under – Men At Work

Every Thursday and Saturday I went to the Roller Disco and this song was always played. I love this faux reggae and was lucky enough to see to writer perform it live with just a guitar.

1981:     Trouble – Lindsey Buckingham

Forget the rest of the album, this is just great experimental pop.

1982:     Golden Brown – The Stranglers

A really tough year with so many choices. I went for the warmth and originality of this “punk” group.

1983:     Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) – Eurythmics

The big breakthrough single. Who’d have thought that years later I’d have a (short) conversation with Dave Stewart online!

1984:     Love Resurrection – Alison Moyet

Still has a great voice. I saw her live and she wittily apologised for her poor dancing saying that her unstable movement was due to an ear infection.

1985:     And She Was – Talking Heads

One of those everyday songs about a woman on acid. David Byrne is a quirky genius.

1986:     Sledgehammer – Peter Gabriel

I only knew one PG song until this came along, complete with a unique video. I’ve loved his work ever since.

1987:     It’s A Sin – Pet Shop Boys

The college years are a distant but great memory and this classic reminds me of those times.

1988:     Talkin’ ‘Bout A Revolution – Tracy Chapman

No relation. This is just a perfect acoustic singer songwriter track. The album (and follow up) are both brilliant.

1989:     Runnin’ Down A Dream – Tom Petty

Another tough year where I couldn’t include Neil Young, Chris Isaak and others, but I do love the guitars on this song. A top album too.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2019 by in Me, music and tagged , , .

Past posts