Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

SD 24th June 2016

Something different:

My first comic strip… featuring a not original subject.

I started with pen and watercolour and then made some digital touchups.

Cartoon 1

3 comments on “SD 24th June 2016

  1. Raybeard
    June 25, 2016

    This is great, Stephen – and I really DO mean it. I’me very impressed indeed.
    I can relate it in a way to my own limited experience.
    We only ever had the one dog, as a family when I was growing up from around the age of ten for a few years (I was utterly devastated when my father took it to be put down, it having got prematurely old, toothless and slow – a wound in me that has never healed, even up to now) I was the one who took on the daily duty, quite willingly, of walking Candy (basically just to do wee and/or a poo – Candy, not me) and I would preface our departure with asking her “Do you want to go for a walk?”, to which her delighted reaction was immediate leaping up and down like a thing possessed. After a while I occasionally subtly changed those words to “Do you want to go TO THE PARK?”, at which she, sensing something different about it which she couldn’t identify and take meaning from, would look at me curiously, head tilted on side, and wait for me to do something further, at which my “Come on then!” would be the signal for her to do her wild, joyful leaps as before. It hardly needs saying that promising her ‘park’ instead of her usual routine ‘walk’ had to be exactly that, a quite different experience from her usual daily treat. (Would never do to cheat or deceive a pet.)
    Anyway, you’ve spurred me on to relating a pleasant memory trip.

    Btw: Reading your EU referendum posting has also urged me to write my own on the subject, which I’ve just done. So thanks for that too. And I’m especially pleased to know that we have congruent minds.

  2. sfchapman
    June 25, 2016

    Having a dog in the house changes the way you do lots of things. It’s a responsibility that is subtly different from that of a cat of course. This little cartoon is direct experience of Zac!

    Congruent is a fine word… I must use it more.

  3. Raybeard
    June 26, 2016

    Stephen, I got so carried away with my own anecdote that I didn’t adequately express my appreciation of your cartoon. It’s so clear in your drawing of Zac how your love of dogs (and other animals?) shines through your depiction. I do hope it means you’re going to do more – especially ones featuring Zac. I reckon they’d be a further, and justified, reason to follow your blog.
    Yes, cats are different and far less demanding, though can be equally as frustrating even without the same requirement to stir oneself.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 24, 2016 by in Fun, Zac and tagged , , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

