Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

SD 28th May 2016

Something different:

Another Saturday, another Parkrun and the second week in a row that I attended the first event at a new location.  This time, I didn’t have to go far.  After rumours of a Stevenage Parkrun circulating for about 2 years, it was great to see this day as the course is only 7 miles from my house.  Now I will be honest, Stevenage is not one of the nicest places around – great road system but poor quality housing, too much concrete and some crime, but the park and lake are quite nice and the undulating route was a good challenge.

Despite keeping the launch low key, 426 people turned out!

So this wasn’t that different, but it brings my different Parkrun places to 22 and somehow I managed a new Personal Best!  It was my first PB in 7 months and I managed to take a whole 4 seconds off my best time, which now stands at 22.23.  I find it a bit strange as I’ve been hovering above 23 minutes for months, so I am not sure where I got the energy from especially as I went to bed at 1am last night.

The next challenge I intend doing a my own duathlon in reverse one Saturday – cycling the 7 miles, running the 3.1 mile Parkrun and then cycling home.


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2016 by in Something different, Sport and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

