Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #58 The Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet

Based on the top 100 albums in Rolling Stone magazine’s top 500, I have set myself the challenge of hearing and appraising each album. I hope to be surprised and educated along the way.

At number 58 are The Rolling Stones with their 1968 album Beggars Banquet.

Sympathy for the Devil opens the album. It’s rhythmic approach sustains it, just about. It’s written from the perspective of the Devil and chronicles the evil deeds he has committed in history.

No Expectations and Parachute Woman are simple blues songs while Dear Doctor, Jigsaw puzzle and Prodigal son are Americana roots. None of these jump out as anything special. While all adequately performed with some grit, the songs pass me by.

Street fighting man is far more interesting and I particularly like the drums.  Factory girl hints at a pleasant folky song, but never quite makes it.  The closing song, Salt of the earth was new to me, but I liked the melody.

Given the quality of the singles that the band released, I dont understand how this and their other albums of the time can sound so slapdash.

Overall, there’s no cohesion with the songs on this album and the performances are random in their quality.  It’s all regrettably forgettable.

 

My rating: 4/10

Standout track: Salt of the earth

Listen to the album here.

See the Top 100 here.

3 comments on “Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #58 The Rolling Stones – Beggars Banquet

  1. Raybeard
    January 30, 2016

    All I remember about this LP’s release was the, erm, ‘stink’ created by the then proposed album cover. It was then first released in a plain cover and only some years later later re-released with the originally intended one that you show. That controversy rather overwhelmed the actual numbers recorded. I’m a bit surprised you give then album so low a rating, but I trust your judgment. I think the aforementioned notoriety unfairly distracted attention from the sounds.

  2. sfchapman
    January 31, 2016

    I think there is another album of theirs in the top 100, so hopefully that will be better!

  3. keithdalankford
    February 28, 2017

    Reblogged this on Photos.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2016 by in music and tagged , .

Twitter feed

  • At a concert in Cambridge and my highly scientific survey has concluded that 5 out of 6 men now have beards 1 day ago
  • Drinking vintage Beaujolais 😀 5 days ago
  • A unusual afternoon where my dog was blessed by a vicar. He didn't seem too impressed but did take a biscuit to be polite 🐶 5 days ago
  • I can respect most political views, but anyone who think Boris is a worthy MP is just an idiot. He's a liar and fool theguardian.com/politics/2017/… 5 days ago
  • Wish me luck, I'm going to a pet church service! I'm taking my dog which should make the religious mumbo jumbo of the event bearable 5 days ago

Past posts

