Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

10 miles – 1:19:49

I ran my first 10 mile race today and it was very tough (strangely more difficult than a half marathon). I had set myself a challenging time and the course they used was very hilly. At mile 8, I was pretty spent, with achy feet and another couple of hills to go!

However, I managed to finish with just under a minute of my target remaining. That means that the first aim of my running year has been completed already, which is pleasing.

Whoever came up with the idea of a finishers medal that is also a bottle opener, is a genius!

12631540_10154003756935649_1716518482013596878_n

One comment on “10 miles – 1:19:49

  1. Raybeard
    January 25, 2016

    Well done, Sir!
    I did four or five Great South Runs (in Portsmouth) which are also 10 miles, and my best time was 1.23.20 – though there are certainly no hills on the course, pretty flat in fact – and they were all done when I was past the age of 50. (Incidentally, during one of them my bag was stolen containing my best jogging gear. Police were notified but, of course, nothing. Had to return on train to Brighton, where I then lived, in sweaty vest and shorts!).
    Wish our ‘medals’ also had had an inbuilt bottle-opener – or corkscrew would have been nice.
    Anyway, good on you for keeping it up. I hope that you’re not going to have my experience and all of a sudden find that you can’t manage it any more. That day may well come but I’m sure you’ll try to keep it postponed as long as you possibly can.
    Well achieved for you, though.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 24, 2016 by in Sport and tagged .

Twitter feed

Past posts

