Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

A music meme

The first song I remember hearing…

Don McLean – American Pie.  It was played on rotation in Dad’s car and at home.

The first song I fell in love with…

In For a Penny – Slade.  I had a little yellow record player and was given the single of this song.  I played it until the vinyl was smooth.

The first album I bought…

Hits 5 – A compilation album. The first track was You can call me Al – Paul Simon.

The song I do at Karaoke…

It may be shocking, but I’ve never done Karaoke. If I did, I’d have a really bad attempt at You’ve lost that loving feelin’ – The Righteous Brothers.

The song I can no longer listen to…

There are some embarrassing ones from my youth that now make me cringe.  I can’t bring myself to share one.

A song that would want me to make music of my own…

There are too many to list, but a song with a strong melody and structure that can simply be played on a guitar and accompanied by a lone voice is something I would love to achieve.  Such a song is in my brain and will escape one day.  Here’s a perfect example: Neil Young – Heart of gold.

The song that makes me want to dance…

Dancing makes no sense to me, but something like Stevie Wonder – Superstition can get me moving.

The song I cant get out of my head…

Well it changes daily, but today my ear worm was Undiscovered by James Morrison and yesterday it was a song from the latest Barenaked Ladies album.  Tomorrow it will be something else; my daily ear worm is guaranteed.

The song I want played at my funeral…

I want someone to write a song for the event.  This has only occurred to me today as a memorable song played at a funeral could well be associated with a sad day forever.

 

Have a go – post a link to your own site.

4 comments on “A music meme

  1. Bob Ramsak
    December 13, 2015

    I had the American Pie 45. I wish I still had it. 🙂

  2. Raybeard
    December 14, 2015

    Very interesting indeed. But, goodness me, the songs that marked the start of your musical awareness only serve to remind me how old I am. They all came out when I was already well into adulthood. Having said that, there’s not one among them which I’d classify as a ‘dud’.
    Thanks for imparting these key-notes of your life.

  3. sfchapman
    December 14, 2015

    We age, but good music doesn’t 🙂

  4. Raybeard
    December 14, 2015

    Quite. As one of my very favourite composers, J.S.Bach (1685-1750) demonstrates.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2015 by in music, Uncategorized and tagged .

Twitter feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Past posts

