Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #60 Captain Beefheart – Trout Mask Replica

Based on the top 100 albums in Rolling Stone magazine’s top 500, I have set myself the challenge of hearing and appraising each album. I hope to be surprised and educated along the way.

At number 60 is Trout Mask Replica by Captain Beefheart.  Brace yourself people…

Now I’ve heard Dignity by Deacon Blue and last years embarrassing Eurovision entry, so I know what bad music sounds like, but this album may be the worst thing I’ve listened to.  I’d like to say that I forced myself to listen to all of this double album, but the pain was too much.

When you consider that Frank Zappa was involved as producer, you know it’s going to be interesting, but this is difficult to comprehend or enjoy.

From the opening note, to the point I gave up (about 42 minutes later), this is a mess of experimental “music”. I listened to it on YouTube and was convinced that another browser window must have been playing a different song; I was wrong. It seems that a trick of experimental music from 1969 was just to get musicians to play whatever they wanted and just mash those performances together.

The other tricks of experimental music are bad vocals, odd lyrics, tempo changes, tuning oddities and anything that has a jarring effect on your brain.

Clearly I don’t “get” this album on any level and I’m saddened in a way, because surely something this mad should be enjoyable and I feel I am missing out.

Please please listen to some of the album and post a comment!

 

My rating: 1/10

Standout tracks: 

Listen to the album here.

See the Top 100 here.

4 comments on “Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #60 Captain Beefheart – Trout Mask Replica

  1. Andrew Brown
    November 19, 2015

    Clearly you were trolling me with that comment about Dignity – so here it is:

    I trust your readers will have more taste than you.

  2. sfchapman
    November 19, 2015

    They should be ashamed

  3. Raybeard
    November 20, 2015

    No. I shall NOT rise to your bait. I flatter myself to think that you might have put that comment in just to provoke me, but I’m slapping down the vanity. Anyway, I think it was the UK’s best entry for many years……..oh drat, I’ve said it!

  4. sfchapman
    November 23, 2015

    The Eurovision song WAS awful and Europe agreed. Comedy records aren’t the answer to us getting points.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2015 by in music, Uncategorized and tagged , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

