Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Half marathon… the sequel

Despite a lack of serious training due to niggling injuries all summer, I ran in my second half marathon today in London and raised money for Scope in the process.

The Royal Parks half marathon takes in a number of top sites including: Wellington Arch, Admiralty Arch, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Aldwich, Hyde Park, Green Park, St James Park, Kensington Gardens, Whitehall and The Albert Memorial.

So me and 15,999 others ran in the beautiful autumn sunshine and I managed to smash my previous best by about 6 minutes – a satisfying 1:48:53.

Given some proper training and a flat course, I am sure I can better this time.  My next planned race is in March and is a hilly North London course. Watch this space.

12096266_10153779942080649_168755557482725172_n

11147242_10153779941565649_3146262304643812823_n

For the record:

5k PB – 22:42

10k PB – 48:16

Half marathon PB – 1:48:53

3 comments on “Half marathon… the sequel

  1. Nato
    October 11, 2015

    Great job! Way faster than any of mine. Congratulations:)

  2. Raybeard
    October 13, 2015

    Well done – yet again! Do all the running while you can (short of injuring yourself), ‘cos once one can’t do it anymore, by golly one misses it!
    Maybe if that hairy hottie on the left of the pic had been just in front of you all the way you might have run even faster – though, of course, you might have actually beaten him anyway.

  3. Nik the Greek
    October 14, 2015

    Congratulations! And well done on raising money for scope! I have a half marathon in East London in May, but should definitely find more races to do before that

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2015 by in Sport and tagged , .

Twitter feed

  • At a concert in Cambridge and my highly scientific survey has concluded that 5 out of 6 men now have beards 1 day ago
  • Drinking vintage Beaujolais 😀 5 days ago
  • A unusual afternoon where my dog was blessed by a vicar. He didn't seem too impressed but did take a biscuit to be polite 🐶 5 days ago
  • I can respect most political views, but anyone who think Boris is a worthy MP is just an idiot. He's a liar and fool theguardian.com/politics/2017/… 5 days ago
  • Wish me luck, I'm going to a pet church service! I'm taking my dog which should make the religious mumbo jumbo of the event bearable 5 days ago

Past posts

