Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Half virginity

I’ve been injured for most of 2015 (it seems) and haven’t been able to run much over the past month due to a calf strain. However, I’d booked in for a half marathon a few months ago and was unsure whether I should even attempt it as I had only run over a hour a couple of times this year.

As part of a recent health check, I was given a 10 day gym pass, so I used one of the days earlier this week to run a slow 90 minutes on the treadmill to see how my body reacted.  I was in some pain, but thought I was able to have a go at the longest run I’d ever attempted.

So today I left home at 6.30am and travelled via car, tube and foot to Hackney Marshes for the Vitality Hackney Half.  I’m not sure how, but I got round the course in 1 hour, 55 minutes and 5 seconds.  It was tough at the end, by at least I’ve ticked this one off the to do list.

Over 10,000 people took part in the warm spring sunshine and I was really pleased that there was plenty of local support along the route.

And now back to the Parkruns for a while until the next long race…

10433864_10153392338850649_8373922654442751861_n

image3

image2

11038930_848866381849082_3081161266097156379_n

2 comments on “Half virginity

  1. Well done 🙂

  2. Raybeard
    May 11, 2015

    Well achieved, Stephen, especially given your concerns. Hope you felt the endorphin release allowing that glowing feeling of satisfaction to come through. Looks like you did. Go carefully now.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2015 by in Sport and tagged .

Twitter feed

  • At a concert in Cambridge and my highly scientific survey has concluded that 5 out of 6 men now have beards 1 day ago
  • Drinking vintage Beaujolais 😀 5 days ago
  • A unusual afternoon where my dog was blessed by a vicar. He didn't seem too impressed but did take a biscuit to be polite 🐶 5 days ago
  • I can respect most political views, but anyone who think Boris is a worthy MP is just an idiot. He's a liar and fool theguardian.com/politics/2017/… 5 days ago
  • Wish me luck, I'm going to a pet church service! I'm taking my dog which should make the religious mumbo jumbo of the event bearable 5 days ago

Past posts

