Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #65 Phil Spector – Back to mono

Based on the top 100 albums in Rolling Stone magazine’s top 500, I have set myself the challenge of hearing and appraising each album. I hope to be surprised and educated along the way.

At number 65 in the 4 disc boxset spanning Phil Spector’s production highlights from 1958 to 1969. Like the James Brown boxset at number 75, I find it’s inclusion to be cheating.

I want to review albums that have been constructed to provide listening pleasure and either works as a unit or does not.  A boxset is a marketing tool and is merely a collection of songs.  I wont deny that many of the songs are of the highest quality and very listenable, but that’s not what this is about.

So listen and enjoy the sublime simplicity of the music including: Da Doo Ron Ron, Then He Kissed Me, You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’, Spanish Harlem and Be My Baby.  I just wont be reviewing this.

 

See the Top 100 here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2015 by in music and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

