Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Iceland

Pete and I treated ourselves to 5 days in Iceland over Christmas. It was a snowy, interesting and entertaining break.  We planned it back in the spring and had a list of things to see and do – not all worked out, but the surprise element also made for a great holiday.  We had the luck of seeing an amazing display of the Northern Lights!

Here are quite a few pictures…

IMG_4812 IMG_4805 IMG_4803 IMG_4748 IMGP5434 IMGP5422 IMGP5375 IMGP5351 IMGP5273 IMGP5119 IMGP5028 IMGP4894 IMG_4841IMGP5485 IMGP5456

4 comments on “Iceland

  1. Raybeard
    December 30, 2014

    Totally fascinating pics. Hats off to you for going to Iceland, in the Winter of all seasons – though I see that you did, at least at one point, manage to divest yourself of your clothes! Other than that it must surely have been long-johns weather pretty much all the time.
    To have seen the Aurora Borealis in that location will undoubtedly have been the experience of a lifetime.
    I take it that the penultimate shot is from the plane’s approach or departure.
    The one of the Church is especially haunting. Even though it’s small it must cost a considerable whack to heat it up for services.
    I bet you had your breath taken away countless times during your five days. Your photos alone have already done that for me.

    I’d often mulled over visiting the country when I first started going abroad 50 years ago but never got round to it as the expense involved in flying there seemed ridiculously out of all proportion to the distance. I don’t know if that’s still the case. Maybe you got an off-season deal. Even so it must be a country like no other on earth and I envy you for having made it (though haven’t completely written off the possibility for myself).
    I see that the island’s population is about the size of Nottingham now. It was considerably smaller when I last seriously looked at it.

    One question I’ve got to ask. Do you think it’s possible to survive as a (non fish-eating) veggie in that country? I should imagine that even a short stay like yours would be problematic from that aspect. As for Vegans (which I’m not quite – yet) I think they’d have to forget it.
    Was your own intake more fish-based than would have normally been the case or were there a variety of largely imported meats available?
    Oh, and did your dip your toe into their gay scene?

    Thanks, Stephen. This posting of yours has been the highlight of my day so far.
    Maybe you’ve got more pics to post? (Can’t have too many, you know!)
    And here’s wishing you and your closest a very Happy NY – and a 2015 in which we’ll see yet more, perhaps lots more, of your adventures.

  2. Nato
    December 31, 2014

    You may have just added a new place to my bucket list.

  3. sfchapman
    January 2, 2015

    Ray – I found that even the veggie dishes had fish sneaked in somewhere! Mostly the menus were fish or some local lamb.

    We didn’t go gay at all, mainly as we were so busy in the daytime that we were exhausted come the evening!

    The place is quite amazing and around every corner was a great view. I have lots more photos, but these are good examples. None were taken from a plane, did you mean the Blue Lagoon one? If so, that was taken from a viewing platform.

    Happy new year!

  4. Raybeard
    January 4, 2015

    Thanks, Stephen. You’re first answer above tells me, as I feared, that I’m probably going to find eating a problem. Will store the knowledge until my visit becomes more likely, which won’t be for quite a while yet.

    Would love to see more pics of those you consider worth posting.

    I send belated best wishes for 2015 to you and yours too.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 30, 2014 by in Fun, Me, Misc., Pete and tagged , , , .

Twitter feed

  • If you're feeling cold on this snowy morning, spare a thought for the people of Baker Lake in Canada where it's currently -23 degrees! 17 hours ago
  • Today I returned to @stalbansparkrun for #Parkrun number One Hundred and Eeeeeiiiiiiggghty! It was very cold but t… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 day ago
  • It’s gonna be a good day... I got the (very) early Countdown Conundrum! 4 days ago
  • Shopping poll... do you buy/want a thing because a famous person has been paid to pretend they like the item? 1 week ago
  • RT @EdKrassen: It would be a shame if this picture of Donald Trump's hair made its way around the internet... so be sure not to RETWEET! ht… 1 week ago

Past posts

