Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

51.51

stdalone-map-2It was a beautiful day yesterday in North Hertfordshire (it’s bucketing down as I type this) with blue skies but a real chill in the air and a little frost on the grass.  I left home at 8am to drive just a few miles to Letchworth Garden City for a 10k race.  It started and ended at Standalone farm and I was joined by 1137 other mad runners/joggers for what turned out to be a bigger event than I had imagined it would be.

In recent months I have been struggling with a leg injury and only 2 weeks ago had some intensive therapy to see what the problem was. That has helped a lot and with new trainers, I have my fingers crossed that I can get back to a good level of fitness.

I had set myself the challenge of running four 10k races in 2014 as well as a Parkrun on a Saturday morning (unless other commitments get in the way) and the most local 10k was always on my list.

I have developed awful man flu, but I battled through and it turned out to be a pretty good race.  I didn’t quite appreciate how shallow and long the hill was on the road between 6k and 9k though!  Had I known the course better, I am sure that I could have achieved a slightly better time than 51.51, but with a stinking cold and not that much training recently I am happy to have finished at all.

The run was helped by me following a very cute and fit guy wearing a skin tight top most of the way.  I liked his pace, that was the only reason I was behind him!

And now on the next challenge I set myself earlier in the year…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2014 by in Me and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

