Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

1 year of Parkruns

One year ago today, I took part in my first Parkrun.  Yesterday I drove to St Albans and took part in my 41st event, despite carrying a painful leg injury (yes, silly of me).  I can’t say that I am runner just yet… not until I’ve achieved a few more things, so watch this space.

I’ve run at 7 Parkrun locations with Wimpole Hall being the first where my time was 28.58 on that inaugural rainy August day. The current injury and lack of quality training over the last 6 weeks means that my times aren’t great at present – around 24.30, but my Personal Best was set in Bedford at the end of June at 23.12 which nearly killed me.  The aim for the rest of the year is to get back to that sort of times and maybe even break 23 minutes. I should be able to do far better if I train sensibly and push myself and stay away from fatty food!

Of the 7 courses, Sheringham Park is the most beautiful, closely followed by Wimpole Hall. Tonbridge was a surprise however, with a run through lovely woods, over little bridges, around ponds and a lake and back again.

I can now officially say that I have never been fitter in my whole life.  Doing a little Yoga (basic moves anyway) and the running has meant that the moobs have reduced, but not totally and the beer gut has almost gone!  I’ve lost around a stone without really trying and have had to buy new clothes as the old ones became too big.

So to all those that walk, jog or walk a 5k course on a Saturday morning somewhere the UK, I am pleased to join you and enjoy the challenge and atmosphere.

3 comments on “1 year of Parkruns

  1. Raybeard
    August 24, 2014

    That really is some going! Well done and keep it up for as long as you can -you won’t regret it. Though do keep an eye on that injury, not letting it turn into a costly, set-back error.

  2. sfchapman
    August 24, 2014

    I’m being careful – even had a sports massage the other night. Difficult to know when it’s healed

  3. Raybeard
    August 24, 2014

    As long as you listen to your body and try to keep your natural desire for a p.b. in sensible proportion you should be fine (though I’m hardly an expert).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2014 by in Me, Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

