Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Edge of the Frame

Inspired by the Daily Post.

We often capture strangers in photos we take in public. Open your photo library, and stop at the first picture that features a person you don’t know. Now tell the story of that person.

Untitled

The weather had been awful all day and I was a little fed up with feeling damp. The modern art museum has been my refuge many times, usually to escape from the world outside, the people, the traffic, the noise. Today it also provided an escape from the seemingly endless rain. But I didn’t mind the distraction of the museum and didn’t need an excuse to explore.

My job is dull, my family demanding and my social life busy. The museum doesn’t fit into any areas of this normal life and perhaps that’s why I like it so much. Nobody knows of my obsession and need to be alone and nobody would ever guess.

It was an unusual Sunday for me. I would be usually be found playing sport or visiting friends, but I had a free day to explore and found myself back at this familiar building. I often came at lunchtimes on a walking route from my place of work, a quite tour and back to my desk – 40 minutes exactly.

I ambled around the usual galleries, soaking in the art at every turn. They changed the exhibits constantly and I always looked for something new or an old friend reintroduced after some time away.  A new artwork had been placed high up on the off-white wall, presumably to meet the demands of the artist. The piece fascinated me and I really wasn’t sure why, but that’s often the case with modern art. I stood, with my neck aching slightly, for 10 minutes before voices in the next room woke me from my meditation.

So on I walk, seeking out the next inspiration before I return to the life outside…

2 comments on “Edge of the Frame

  1. Pingback: The Trouble with Gary | Keyboard Pizza

  2. Marie
    August 7, 2014

    This was great, I really enjoyed reading it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2014 by in Art and tagged .

Twitter feed

  • At a concert in Cambridge and my highly scientific survey has concluded that 5 out of 6 men now have beards 1 day ago
  • Drinking vintage Beaujolais 😀 5 days ago
  • A unusual afternoon where my dog was blessed by a vicar. He didn't seem too impressed but did take a biscuit to be polite 🐶 5 days ago
  • I can respect most political views, but anyone who think Boris is a worthy MP is just an idiot. He's a liar and fool theguardian.com/politics/2017/… 5 days ago
  • Wish me luck, I'm going to a pet church service! I'm taking my dog which should make the religious mumbo jumbo of the event bearable 5 days ago

Past posts

