Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Futures past

Inspired by the Daily Prompt on the Daily Post on WordPress:

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

When I was growing up, I envied kids who had a vision of what their career was going to be and how they might get there.  I know of none that really succeeded in their quest however.  I think, it reality, most of us fall into a line of work and accept it.

The ideas of a career were fleeting and few of the ideas were particularly taken seriously.  I did toy with the idea of going to college to study photography, but wasn’t dedicated enough to pursue it.  I didn’t excel at anything in particular and my sports skills would never have made me dream of being a professional footballer.

In the 1980’s, computer games were a passion and I did plan out a couple, but took that nowhere. Wouldn’t it have been great to see my name on a ZX Spectrum game cassette case!

I did think about teaching for a while, but at that time I knew no-one that had gone to University and the careers advice we received in my rather rough school was, looking back, quite appalling.  University was never mentioned and in fact, no guidance was really provided.  I lost out there.

It’s not essential to have a dream job, but I am sure it helps when mapping out education. So to you people that knew and acheived… I really don’t like you veyr much!   🙂

 

 

 

4 comments on “Futures past

  1. Nik_theGreek
    May 31, 2014

    Both my parents are civil engineers and although they both worked on the public sector and I wouldn’t have an office and clientele to inherit I always thought I’d become one. My university entry exams didn’t go that well and I ended up studying land surveying and cartography which isn’t that far off to be fair. But I ended up doing nothing of the sorts and I’m working in IT as a kind of developer.
    I did have similar thoughts with you when I owned my ZX spectrum all these years ago but what I do doesn’t have anything to do with gaming…

  2. Pingback: The Impossible Dream | lynnesartandsoul

  3. Pingback: Flash Fiction / Short Story – “A Family of Marionettes” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: Older, and dafter too! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2014 by in Me and tagged .

Twitter feed

Past posts

