Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

This week I have been…

ImageListening… to some jazz classics on a best of Blue Note that I bought on a whim. Apart from a couple of tracks, it’s a great collection of songs; some laid back, some challenging and some plain groooovy.

Watching… one film American Hustle. I appreciate that this has received some good reviews, but I think it needed some editing to rid itself of some terribly long and dull scenes. It could have been good, but instead seemed flabby and a bit confusing. It was no Jackie Brown. So it gets a safe 6/10 from me.

Also watching… some more Breaking Bad after a long period of waiting for the next round of DVDs from Lovefilm. Excellent stuff.

Eating… and drinking today for afternoon tea at Luton Hoo as a celebration for Pete’s God Mother’s 84th birthday.

Running… in my 34th Parkrun. At the end a kid aged about 11 passed me on the line. While we were queuing to log our times. He thanked me for pushing him without even knowing it as he matched my pace. A polite young man.

 

 

3 comments on “This week I have been…

  1. Raybeard
    May 19, 2014

    I must have missed those ‘terribly long and dull scenes’ in ‘American Hustle’, but I can hardly wait to see it again in any case, so next time will be looking out for them.

    Your experience of having a child passing you in a run reminds me of the time when I was battling to keep up with a runner who was pushing an adult invalid in a wheelchair. Oh, the humbling was painful! I’d already vowed that I’d give up for good if ever I was overtaken by Donald Duck, a male ballet dancer in tutu or, worst of all, by a Rhino! Thank goodness I never was (that I noticed).

  2. sfchapman
    May 19, 2014

    American Hustle divided the room last when it was mentioned at a presentation. I quite liked it, with Christian Bale not going his usual overacting(!) but still feel better editing would have made a slicker film. Pete felt it dragged and I could see he was willing it to draw to a conclusion after 90 minutes.

  3. Raybeard
    May 19, 2014

    Part of my singular appreciation for ‘Hustle’ was undoubtedly the dazzling presence of Mr Cooper, here looking as eatable as he’s EVER been, so maybe that swung the positives for me.
    Agree with you about Bale.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2014 by in Movies, music, Television and tagged , , , , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

