Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

This week I have been…

Image

Watching… just one film Sunshine on Leith. I am not a great fan of musicals and this one was based on the songs of The Proclaimers about 2 soldiers coming home to Edinburgh from Afghanistan. I have to say that, if the songs were taken out, it would be a good film. For me, the songs added absolutely nothing and just made the characters look stupid. With songs, it’s 5/10, without songs it would have been 7/10.

Entertained… fully at Charlie and the chocolate factory. This was yet another part of a friends surprise birthday presents with Pete and I turning up yet again. The show was great and the audience of many kids helped with the atmosphere. The stage sets were stunning and we had a great old time and craved chocolate afterwards!

Visiting… a town in the very north of Buckinghamshire called Olney. We went on bank holiday Monday and had a very pleasant walk around this odd (in a good way) town. Around 7 miles east of Milton Keynes, this place has history seeping from every old building and open space. It also has a great number of shops selling mainly ladies expensive clothes and “stuff” for homes. We had a walk along the river with Zac and coffee and cake.

Running… in a 10k at Silverstone and my 33rd Parkrun in St Albans. The latter was awful, with low energy levels and annoying puddles!

3 comments on “This week I have been…

  1. Raybeard
    May 12, 2014

    I’ve responded to your comment on my ‘Sunshine’ blog, Stephen.

    That’s a fine recommendation you give for ‘Charlie’ – particularly coming from someone who is “not a great fan of musicals”.

  2. sfchapman
    May 12, 2014

    I should have been clear… I don’t like film musicals

  3. Raybeard
    May 12, 2014

    Ah yes! That is a VERY important difference which a disturbing number of people don’t seem to appreciate. I could never say that I really know a musical only having seen it on film.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2014 by in Movies and tagged , , , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

