Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #84 Aretha Franklin – I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You

Based on the top 100 albums in Rolling Stone magazine’s top 500, I have set myself the challenge of hearing and appraising each album. I hope to be surprised and educated along the way.

At number 84 is Aretha Franklin, (who also appeared at number 85) with the longest album title on the list so far: I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You.

This album preceded number 85 by just a single year and is regarded by many as her breakthrough album, though on release the reviews by Rolling Stone were non too complimentary.

The opening track, Respect is a classic recording with powerful vocals and band performance. The music continues, though in a more laid back style including the bluesy title track. There’s plenty to enjoy to enjoy here and I particularly liked the groove on Save Me.

Given that this is the second Aretha album in succession, I’m at risk of repeating myself so I will draw this to a close.  It’s not quite as polished as the follow up album, but it’s still a fine piece of work and very listenable from start to finish.  I would suggest that it’s more of a listening pleasure to hear this album (and the previous one) than any of the many greatest hits packages as you benefit from the sequencing and flow.

My rating: 7/10

Standout tracks: Respect, Save Me

Listen to the album via YouTube here.

See the Top 100 here.

One comment on “Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #84 Aretha Franklin – I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You

  1. Raybeard
    March 16, 2014

    Jeepers! I got a whole load of catching up with you to do – from Dusty onwards.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2014 by in music and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

  • If you're feeling cold on this snowy morning, spare a thought for the people of Baker Lake in Canada where it's currently -23 degrees! 23 hours ago
  • Today I returned to @stalbansparkrun for #Parkrun number One Hundred and Eeeeeiiiiiiggghty! It was very cold but t… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 day ago
  • It’s gonna be a good day... I got the (very) early Countdown Conundrum! 5 days ago
  • Shopping poll... do you buy/want a thing because a famous person has been paid to pretend they like the item? 1 week ago
  • RT @EdKrassen: It would be a shame if this picture of Donald Trump's hair made its way around the internet... so be sure not to RETWEET! ht… 1 week ago

Past posts

