Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Music recommendation: Broken Bells – Holding on for life

A few years ago I heard a really excellent song called The High Road by this band Broken Bells.  You can hear the song here (and avoid the awful Joss Stone cover version).

Broken Bells are duo Brian Burton (better known as Danger Mouse) and James Mercer, the lead vocalist and guitarist for the band The Shins.  They began working together after meeting at a festival, though it took 6 years to release their first album in 2010. The song I am recommending is from their latest album, After The Disco that will be released next month.

Holding on for life is a song that I didn’t “get” when I first heard it. But it is all over certain radio stations and it’s really grown on me – today I heard it on BBC 6Music and our local radio station Jack FM.  I am not usually a fan of falsetto singing, but this song is so bloody catchy that I guarantee you will be singing “holding on for life” in your finest high voice before the song ends…

See other recommendations here

One comment on “Music recommendation: Broken Bells – Holding on for life

  1. Pingback: Music recommendation: The Shins – Simple Song | Stephen Chapman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2014 by in music and tagged , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

