Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

This week I have been…

Image

Listening… to the soundtrack to Searching For Sugar Man.  A good example was posted earlier.

Watching… a couple of films.  We saw Behind the Candelabra and to my surprise, I found it a bit boring. It was well acted and directed, but I didn’t really care too much about what was going on, which was a disappointment. It scraped 6/10.  We also watched The Women on the 6th Floor, a French comedy about Spanish maids looking after the wealthy families in Paris – quite funny 7/10.  And finally the star studded Quartet which I found cliched, silly and full of stereotypes. It’s one of those movies that you can guess the story within minutes (Pete and I were both correct) and you sit there wondering if a foreign audience think that England is really like this.  Just about 5/10.

Defending… my review of a Prince album as Pete felt I got it wrong. Of course, I was spot on with my observations!

Working… and not really doing much else this week. That’s a bit sad eh? And finally this week I have been…

Taking part… in my 9th Parkrun, this time returning to Wimpole Hall estate and have strained my left calf and groin!  I achieved a PB, but am still some way off a good time (for my age).  I have two running aims for this year that need to be satisfied.  Firstly, I want to run round Grafham Water – which is 8.7 miles.  Secondly, reduce my best 5km time from around 27 minutes to the sub 25 minutes which is a challenge.  Both will take training of differing approaches. Watch this space.

5 comments on “This week I have been…

  1. Raybeard
    October 20, 2013

    I gave both ‘Candelabra’ and ‘Quartet’ a 7.5.

    I often wonder if one gives a film a different evaluation depending on whether it’s seen on big or small screen. There are certainly different sets of potential distractions in both. In the former they are mainly outside one’s control e.g. other people talking/texting – as well as the disappointment felt if one thinks that effort and money were wasted. And in the latter, within control e.g. leaving film playing while going to get a coffee. I’ve even heard that some people actually f/fwd during what they consider to be the ‘boring’ bits!
    I myself can’t imagine a film being enjoyed more on TV than in a cinema, but maybe that’s just me, not a great TV watcher. And anyway, of course, we know that ‘Candelabra’ was actually made for the small screen, so there’s no real accounting for what one may feel.

  2. sfchapman
    October 20, 2013

    I couldn’t fault the performances in ‘Candelabra’ – both main actors were brilliant. The film was lacking a story for me.

    As for Quartet… what an amazing waste of amazing talent!!! It was all too obvious and completely unbelievable (and know not all films need to be real, but this one was asking to be I think). One bit annoyed me – the character played by Tom Courtenay HATED Maggie Smiths character so so much and then suddenly with no great explanation, his opinion alters – that seemed silly to me. By that point, Pete had said he was bored and was making tea. These actors deserved a better script!

  3. sfchapman
    October 20, 2013

    …and half points are so wrong! 🙂

  4. Raybeard
    October 21, 2013

    Half-points is called ‘nuance’, Stephen. (Oh blimey!)

  5. Pingback: This week I have been… | Stephen Chapman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2013 by in Movies, music and tagged , , , , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

