Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #94 Hank Williams – 40 Greatest Hits

Based on the top 100 albums in Rolling Stone magazine’s top 500, I have set myself the challenge of hearing and appraising each album. I hope to be surprised and educated along the way.

Number 94 is by the country music God, Hank Williams.  Forty Greatest Hits is the first collection in the top 100.

When Williams died in 1953 at the age of just 29, he was the biggest star in country music. A history of alcohol and drug use hastened his early death.  Many believe that he would have been a huge worldwide star had he lived.

I will be honest with you, some of the music on the album is a little twee for me, though I can definitely appreciate the skill of the musicians.  The set up for each song is a traditional country group and each track similar in style to the last to my ears.  I only knew a couple of songs, due to versions by other artists with Your Cheatin’ Heart probably the most well known.

There are some great song titles on the album, including: My Son calls another man Daddy, Moanin’ the blues and You’re gonna change or I’m gonna leave. 

I cant say anything bad about the album, it’s just a very nice collection of country tunes. If you like country, you sure gonna love boy.

My rating: 6/10

Listen to the album via Spotify here.

See the Top 100 here.

2 comments on “Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #94 Hank Williams – 40 Greatest Hits

  1. Raybeard
    December 4, 2013

    Having listened to 32 tracks over two sessions (the others were not available on Spotify) it really needs a hardened country music aficianado to appreciate them in strict sequence for the little masterpieces that they are. But coming from a same-sounding source, all with minimal accompaniment, though where lyrics are more than usually important, hearing them in succession can be a demanding listen. Of course they weren’t intended to be listened to all at once, anyway.
    Some of the tracks were quite familiar as, when I was a kid, Hank Williams’ name was almost a household word. I was therefore surprised to find that none of his singles reached the British Top 100. Even though he died in 1953, as you say at just 29 (another surprise for me), being just a year after the British charts were created, I would have expected there to have been one or two posthumous hits. But apparently not.
    I’d concur with your rating of 6.

  2. Pingback: Rolling Stone top 100 albums: #88 Johnny Cash – At Folsom Prison | Stephen Chapman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2013 by in music and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

