Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

So I made joke!

When we were in France, a girl of about 17 came and said hello to my dog Zac. For some reason he wasn’t at all interested in her and even though she was friendly, he ignored her as she talked to him.

So, in my very poor French I said to her: “Mon chien ne comprend pas, Il parle Anglais!”

She laughed… so surely it must have been funny!

 

A daily post inspired posting.

3 comments on “So I made joke!

  1. Raybeard
    June 20, 2013

    Well done to you! I think ALL my non-English jests have fallen flat, usually resulting in looks of bewilderment and/or a request for explanation. What is just as bad is being laughed at (quite frequently) for something said which was NOT intended to be funny, it being so easy to drop an unintentional clanger in a language other than one’s mother tongue.

  2. sfchapman
    June 20, 2013

    I did actually make another joke in French a long time ago… it’s more of a “say it out loud joke”:

    What do you can White Van Man in France?

    Vin Blanc!

  3. Raybeard
    June 21, 2013

    Rather good, that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Fun, Zac and tagged .

Twitter feed

Past posts

