Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

End of watch

We watched a film last night called End Of Watch with Jake Gyllenhaal about cops in a rough part of Los Angeles.  To my amazement, it’s rated 15 by the BBFC.

If you saw this film, you’d never want to go to LA, or any part of America possibly.  The stupidly unlikely things that the two main characters see in a few days made America look like a third world dictatorship. It’s basically a film full of swearing and guns.

The shaky camera for the first 20 minutes made me feel ill and the attitude of some characters brought me close to turning the DVD off. I persevered however and I kept thinking that it could have been a good film if they toned it down a bit… well, a lot actually.

Usually the rating attached to films are understandable but in this case, I think the BBFC got it very wrong. It’s a nasty violent film and in a very real way – there is no comic or video game violence here.  It’s full of bitter evil anger and I found it quite unsettling and distasteful.  I would not want my 15 and 17 year old nephews seeing this film.

And here endeth my rant for the day.

5 comments on “End of watch

  1. Raybeard
    May 30, 2013

    I really wanted to see this one but, for some reason, it only got evening screenings around here, making it inaccessible to me.
    I wasn’t expecting a verdict like you’ve just written, expecting it to be much more on traditional ‘cops and criminal’ lines. It sounds like I too may have had problems with it but, despite what you say, if it gets a come-back single matinee showing (as occasionally films do) I’ll still want to go, now for the additional reason that you’ve aroused my curiosity – and with fair warning that it might be better ‘appreciated’ by mentally detaching oneself from what’s going on on screen.

  2. sfchapman
    May 30, 2013

    As long as you are prepared for some bad language and violence, you might like it!

  3. Raybeard
    May 31, 2013

    Reckon could well do so.

  4. CMrok93
    May 31, 2013

    Good review Stephen. It’s not the most original piece of work out there, but the chemistry and characterization between these two is what really kept it fresh and exciting and had us invested in what happened to these guys.

  5. Pingback: This week I have been… | Stephen Chapman

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in Movies and tagged , , , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

