Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Kings Cross

I was in London for work today and saw several seasons during the day, including horizontal rain. On my journey home, the sun came out as I got to Kings Cross and I took a few photos and stitched them together. The cleaned up station looks impressive in the sunshine…

Kings Cross

3 comments on “Kings Cross

  1. Raybeard
    May 24, 2013

    It does look very fine but I sometimes wonder how you manage to take as many photos in public as you do without getting stopped by suspicious security staff. (Or maybe you do?) I especially wonder if young men with assumed-to-be Asiatic-origin appearance would be able to do the same as you unimpeded.
    Last year I went through the re-vamped Kings X for the first time and, having my camera with me, wondered if I dared take a photo of the new forecourt (which you’d already done and posted on your blog a little time before). I decided to chicken out for the reason stated, especially since I have a swarthy complexion.

  2. sfchapman
    May 24, 2013

    It’s a good point. The law is on OUR side and no-one can insist you delete images and if they believe you are doing something wrong, then they should take it to the next level. Intimidation by police or security guides when you are doing nothing wrong cant be accepted. For this image, I just took a few on the iphone in seconds and played with the light etc on the train home.

    I think a post on this subject may be useful as it’s not until after the event that you think to yourself “why were they stopping me from taking photos and what should I have asked them?”

  3. Raybeard
    May 25, 2013

    Some years ago I started getting nervous about taking photos, even a distant scenic one, when children happened to be around, no matter if they were out of camera-shot. More recently I’ve become very cagey about taking pics of renowned buildings or structures which could, conceivably, be the target of some sort of attack. I suppose it reflects the changing state of society and the world. Never having owned an iPhone, or ANY mobile, I think that if you’ve got one it’s much easier to take an unnoticed quickie rather than using a more conspicuous camera.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in London, Photography and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

