Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower – 7/10

When I was about 15, my Mum became involved in the parent/teacher association at my school. She helped to organise a couple of “discos” and therefore, one Saturday evening in June, I was dragged along to one of these events. While my Mum stood outside collecting tickets, I was expected to go inside and have a good time.

None of my small circle of friends was going, so I was in the hall with people I vaguely knew, and preferred not to know. I stood at the edge alone, wondering what to do with myself feeling very conspicious. I have never enjoyed dancing and I certainly couldn’t dance alone. I was trapped and was finding it increasingly embarrassing to be there. When I made my escape some time later, I vowed never to go through that again.

It’s just one of those school moments that haunts all of us. The feeling of being an outsider comes to us all, at least once and even the cool kids will admit to some unhappy times I’m sure.  The film I saw this week, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, expands this theme.

The film is a bit comedy, a bit drama and even a bit disturbing serious drama. It stars Logan Lerman (who is 21 but gets away with playing a school kid) as the new guy at school who is extremely clever but wants to stay below the radar.  It also stars Paul Rudd, Hermione Granger (sorry, I mean Emma Watson) and Ezra Miller.

It becomes a bit more than a teen movie and has some touching scenes.  There is some great music throughout the film, but some have commented that the song that is unknown of the group (mentioned in a couple of scenes), would certainly have been heard by one or more of them.  It didn’t ruin it for me, but I can see where the reviewers were coming from.

Overall, it’s a film that surprised me and was entertaining throughout.

3 comments on “The Perks of Being a Wallflower

  1. JeremyEM
    April 25, 2013

    The fact is that the author / director grew up in Pittsburgh, loved music and still does. When he was a teenager he knew David Bowie’s later work but he and his friends had not heard ‘Heroes’. He mentions this in interviews and I think in the director’s commentary.

    It is interesting that quite a few know it al’ls get steamed up about this and say

    ‘…that could NEVER EVER EVER EVER have happened in a billion trillion years…’

    So I think the laugh is on them.

  2. Raybeard
    April 26, 2013

    I wanted to see this but it was one (of too many, these days) that got away. Seems I really missed out on something.

  3. sfchapman
    April 26, 2013

    I agree Jeremy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Movies and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

