Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Surprisingly short sighted Yahoo!

Today Yahoo! announced that it was banning it’s staff from working’remotely’ – i.e. working from home. I find this decision
baffling. Although I agree that many good decisions come from the working relationships of an office, the quality of work does not suffer when working from home a few days a week.  And I would argue that, due to no travel stress, people often work longer hours at home and are more productive.

yahoo-logo

Those that see “working from home” as an easy ride and a way to avoid work obviously haven’t been trusted enough to work remotely themselves.

For the past 5 years, I have been based from home and I travel to see clients up to 4 days a week. I have a place of work within the home and am productive.  I use modern technology to aid my job where possible and am in communication with colleagues constantly.  I believe the use of technology, including video conferencing and online training is the future for many businesses.

The old fashioned view that people are skiving at home is short sighted and frankly an insult. Where is the trust here?

I would recommend to many of my clients that allowing staff to work from home a couple of days a week is likely to benefit everyone. For example, I achieve more in an hour at home than 2 hours in an office.  I work smartly and I am often found at 7.30am checking emails (usually before going out to see clients), and having the flexibility to start/stop work when you want is a massive bonus.  When I was working in London, I was travelling for 3 hours each day to get to/from work, therefore I always started with stress and I was keen to get away to be on the best train – working from home some of the time would have broken up the week nicely and reduced my stress levels.

I know that I would struggle to work in an office full time.  In fact, I would hate the restrictions it placed on me… though maybe I will have to return to it one day. All I know is that remote working is ideal for some roles and Yahoo! will lose some good people over this stupid decision.

3 comments on “Surprisingly short sighted Yahoo!

  1. Mark
    February 27, 2013

    I completely appreciate where you’re coming from, though I’m the opposite. I find I am much more motivated working in an office environment rather than at home. In fact I have recently made the decision to move my private client work into the office purely for motivational purposes. I think I relate home with home and work with work!

  2. sfchapman
    February 27, 2013

    I suppose it’s good to have the choice.

  3. tosid01
    February 28, 2013

    Personally I would love a work at home job! Are there any real ones left? If you know of any non scammed ones would you kindly let me know? tosid01@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in work.

Twitter feed

Past posts

