Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

Robbie Rogers – welcome to the club

Ex-Leeds United and USA winger has revealed he is gay. Coming out is tough enough, but doing it in public is a brave thing to do, so welcome to your new club Robbie. It’s a shame that he is “retiring” from the game at only 25 but he said: “I always thought I could hide this secret. Football was my escape, my purpose, my identity. Now is my time to step away. Its time to discover myself away from football.”

If I had a chance to chat to Robbie, I would have to ask:

Would he have ever considered coming out during his playing career?

Was he able to have a relationship in recent years?

Did he know any other gay football players?

On a related theme, you ought to catch an old blog posting from my friend Andrew on the odds of there being no gay Premiership players. The stats are from a favourite radio programme of mine called More Or Less.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2013 by in football, gay and tagged , , .

Twitter feed

Past posts

