Stephen Chapman

The second incarnation of my blog

A meme stolen from The Independent

My parents are… Retired and enjoying spending their hard earned money. My Dad is a worrier, but I didn’t learn that until only a few years ago, but thrives on a challenge and my Mum can turn her hand to anything.

The household I grew up in… was quite relaxed, in hindsight. I didn’t have a great deal to do with my brothers and my parents weren’t overly strict.

When I was a child I wanted to be… a teacher.

If I could change one thing about myself… I wish I had hair. However, if it’s something I can actually change, then I wish I were more motivated to achieve the many ideas I have in my head.

You wouldn’t know it but I am very good at… coming up with witty one liners off the top of my head – but I can’t think them up if I consciously try.

You may not know it but I’m no good at… remembering people’s names.

At night I dream of… a secret island cut off from the rest of the world and stuck in a timewarp.

I wish I had never worn… leg warmers with roller skates. Forgive me, it was 1983.

What I see when I look in the mirror… My Grandad, but also someone with fewer wrinkles than I deserve.

It’s not fashionable but I like… Frasier.

I drive… a BMW. It’s a company car and if I had to drive a car that I bought, it would probably be an old banger – I am no petrol head.

My house is… a typical 1980’s house, but now with the added selling point of the gym/office/cinema that I built at the end of the garage.

My favourite work of art… Possibly a Mondrian or an Escher. But it’s so difficult to say. I bought a print of a work by an unknown artist (I just can figure out the signature), that I like a lot. It’s a charcoal picture of a naked man.

A book that changed me… The Da Vinci Code (only joking!). I’m still waiting for the book that really changes me, but To Kill A Mockingbird made me realise how great literature can be.

The last album I bought/downloaded… North by Matchbox Twenty.

My greatest regret… I didn’t come out much younger, I didn’t travel travel when I was younger and I didn’t learn another language (yet).

My secret crush… If I told you, it wouldn’t be a secret!

My five-year plan… I can’t plan ahead that far. In fact, I don’t have much of a plan for 2013 other than a holiday and a couple of concerts.

My life in six words… Creative, boyfriend, hesitant, particular, complex

4 comments on “A meme stolen from The Independent

  1. Raybeard
    February 12, 2013

    You wanted to be a teacher when you were a CHILD? No fireman, train-driver, pirate, explorer, soldier, sailor, doll’s house-maker then? You really must have been precocious!

  2. sfchapman
    February 12, 2013

    That would be because I didn’t grow up in the 1950’s!

  3. sfchapman
    February 12, 2013

    Why don’t you give this meme a go!?!

  4. Raybeard
    February 13, 2013

    Not so keen on memes. I’d rather read someone else’s as it takes less mental energy than doing it oneself – and my grey cells spend more time slumbering these days than doing anything active.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2013 by in Me and tagged .

Twitter feed

Past posts

